No more junk food

Bake food is always beloved by students. Can you imagine a school without cupcakes, muffins, chocolate cakes… but only things such as reduced-fat Baked Doritos or low-sugar granola bars? An old friend of mine who studies in New York just called me last night. When I told her that I was having a great carrot cake, she said,”You know what, in order to keep students healthy, bake foods are not allowed in schools here any more! But I don’t think it’s a good idea! Totally ridiculous!” I was surprised when I first heard that news:  seriously? Will that work for those who are unaware of their obesity but still eat all the time?                         

Cupcake-free in schools. 

I immediately looked it up on the website of The New York Times and I read this article, which is published quite recently. It first announced the measure that the Education Department uses which is to forbid selling unhealthy foods. The author introduced the basic background of this rule and then quoted some comments from adults as well as from students. The article did talk about students’ concern, for example raising money. It shows some pieces of advice given by teachers and Department officials although they does not really seem to be ideal according to the author. The article is quite good and I loved the last sentence said by Dr.Wechsler: “Schools are supposed to be a place where we establish a model environment”.

In fact, the ban of bake sales is not new. It’s already implemented in California.

In my opinion, this ban is a double-edged-sword. It is reasonable for the obesity of adolescents is becoming increasingly serious in American society, but it’s kind of unfair for those student organizations that just sell food to raise money in order to raise money.

The ban can ameliorate the situation of corpulence. Even when those overweighted students don’t actually need food, they are not usually can’t control their endless desire for foods when they see them. Banning bake sales is a great way to keep them away from high fat foods. Students won’t have the motivation to buy food if they can’t see them at all. From this perspective, the policy is quite helpful.

From the perspective of students who just need funds to organize activities, this rule blocks their most efficient way to get money. Nothing can be easier than benefiting from food sales. Suggestions like “sell T-shirts or key chains” instead of food) are not practical indeed. In a word, this ban brings inconvenience to students as well.

5 Comments »

  1. Mariel Said:

    😦 I love junk food.

  2. yululai Said:

    Hi, Claire,
    This is Yulu. And I just read your blog about the ban of the bake food in school. I was surprised at this news because it was also related to our lives. I was quite agree with your opinion that the school shouldn’t ban the junk food because it was also the right of student to choose their own choice. So what do you think it’s more important, choose the food you like or better health?

  3. Roy Wong Said:

    for me, i don’t think junk foods are harmful to students’ heath. indeed, none of the food we eat is harm for us, the only thing that kills us is the amount of foods we eat. for example, people won’t get over weight by eating junk foods unless they eat them almost everyday. Also, this is basic on individual body, someone may never gain fat no matter how much they eat; oppositly, some will gain fat easily. All of all, depend on what body you have, and control the amount of foods you eat, nothing in your stomache is harm to you.

  4. sabrinapan Said:

    oh~~what the hell! I cannot conceive a meal without those muffins and cupcakes. Sometimes those dessert will definitely cause obesity, however, I don’t think it is always junk food. When you have high sugar in the morning or at noon, it will provide you with energy used to do activities. Moreover, I don’t think that this policy of school can keep those students who are addicted to junk food from eating that by just not giving them in school. How can schools be sure that they will not have that when off campus? Anyway, I love those junk food. Extremely love them.

  5. bkjung Said:

    This article gave me a shock and I am glad that it is not happening in Massachusetts. I as a person who love a junk food, this ban make me feel depressed. Anyway I think it is good for American kids because the obesity will effect on their future lives but I am kind of wondering that if it is going be work well.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment